PR, Social Media, and Everything in Between


Here are all the reasons I think so…

Modified Podcast Logo

Image Credit: "Modified Podcast Logo with My Headphones Photoshopped On" by Colleen AF Venable

The ability to listen to people talk on your iPod when you want to is extraordinary. I can’t recall the number of times I’ve been frustrated by talk show hosts that dribble on about nothing in the wee hours of the morning. Podcasts are cool because you can listen to what you want, when you want.

Podcasts come in a variety of different forms. Some are 30 minutes long, an hour, or even longer. Companies can create podcasts for consumers that would rather listen than read. On long commutes podcasts can be the perfect antidote to traffic.

Podcasts are also cool because podcast producers use comments from viewers in their show. I left a comment on “For Immediate Release” podcast #587, and my comment was mentioned in #588. There’s nothing cooler than hearing your name broadcasted across the car radio. I think commenting is one of the coolest parts of podcasting.

I used to listen to the Leaky Cauldron’s podcast. My favorites were the episodes where reporters from MuggleNet also chimed in. I think collaboration is a cool aspect of podcasting. You can produce the show by yourself, and then introduce new voices in later shows. I look forward to hearing a new voice on an old favorite. Think of it like guest stars on Glee.

Since I’ve started Prof. Nixon’s PR Strategies class I’ve begun listening to PR podcasts. I enjoy “For Immediate Release” the most. They offer the right balance of commentary and news for my taste. I also listen to “Inside PR,” and recently I began subscribing to “Grammar Girl.” These podcasts are cool because they offer more content than advertising. They also release podcasts on a very regimented schedule, which I find particularly helpful.

If you know of any other great podcast tips or shows I should be listening to, please post them in the comments area. I’m always looking to expand my knowledge basis.

Comments on: "Podcasting Is Really Cool!" (2)

  1. Mary Williams said:

    Ok i read it and ok that makes since…I like it

    • Jessica said:

      Radiolab, Stuff Mom Never Told You, How Stuff Works, and This American Life are all fun and informative podcasts I listen to and love.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

